Siocon Municipality is located in the southern part of the province of Zamboanga del Norte. It lies on latitude 7o36" South, longitude 122o23" 
East and 122o5" West. It is situated on the northern quadrant of Region 
IX and North of Zamboanga  City, the Regional Center. Siocon lies 
Southwest of Dipolog City, the Provincial Capital of Zamboanga del Norte 
and covers an area of 503.2 square Kilometers and with the latest

population count of 28,196 inhabitants.


      The local Government of Siocon attained its status as regular Local
Government Unit on December 23, 1936 by virtue of Executive Order No. 77  
issued by the Department of Interior, Manila. However, the creation of Siocon as a municipality duly acknowledged by the people was March 10, 1937. Henceforth, "Araw ng Siocon" is celebrated every 10th of March of each year. Prior to the creation into an independent municipality, Siocon was a part of the municipality district of Sibuco where the president, the forerunner of the Municipality Mayor held office.
      In December 18, 1989, pursuant to Batas Pambansa Bilang101, seven (7)
northern barangays were separated and was formed into another municipality named Baliguian.
     The first appointed Municipal Mayor of Siocon was the late Dionisio E. Riconalla. The first elected Municipal Mayor was the late Justiniano P.
Miranda on 1938-1941 and in the election that ensued, then Dionisio E. Reconalla was elected and lay his dedicated service as Municipality Mayor from 1942-1946. After the liberation of independence, service of local Chief Executive was elected as follows, namely; Gregorio Alano, 1947-1951; Genaro Campaner, 1952-1956, Andres L. Micubo, Sr. 1957-1960, Angel B. Brillantes, 1961-1975 and Dr. Bernardo B. Cabral, from 1976 to April, 1986. Prior to the election, just after the EDSA Revolution, the former Chief of Police, Isabelo G. Torrefranca was appointed as Office-In-Charge. For two months before the 1988 election, Bonifacio Canama was appointed Officer-In-Charge. The election in 1988, Mrs. Jesus R. Pastor was proclaimed the winner and she finished her three terms = until May 31, 1998. The 1998 Local election proclaimed Municipal Mayor = Ceasar C. Soriano as the incumbent Municipal Mayor.


      On September 2, 1991, the Legislative Body of this municipality passed and adopted a resolution adopting ORCHIDS as the Municipal Flower. It symbolizes oneness. ORCHIDS Flower is composed of white flowers and green leaves which represent the female populace. Aside from this, it is a common flower found in this locality.=20


      Narra is our national tree, red and white in color is the municipal = tree. It represents the male populace. It could be found in the forested = area of Siocon. Narra Timber is commonly found in this municipality and are commonly used as materials in building houses, furnitures, etc.


      Ancient relics discovered and attested to the fact that this
municipality has been inhabited long before the coming of the Spaniards.

Some of these links to the past where China wares were excavated at

Kayatian Hill where a church facade was also found by the early

settlers. These settlers are farmers raising such staple crops as rice,

corn, camotes and other products such as abaca and coconut. It is

evident that the first settlers were the Subanons, Maguindanaos and

Kalibugans who occupied the hinterlands while the Tausog lived and

settled along the shorelines.
      The inhabitants of this municipality considered Port Sta. Maria as

historical spot whereby Spaniards made their headquarters during the Spanish time.


      The official Seal of this municipality reflects the four (4) major = source of income. Rice as one of the major resources considered Siocon 
as the rice granary of the southern part of Zamboanga del Norte. With
its location facing the Sulu Sea. The place is an ideal fishing ground
that a fisherman riding his vinta can catch can feed more than enough of

his family. The virgin forest of this municipality where timber abounds

have offered job opportunities to the inhabitants. Siocon municipality

is a coconut producing municipality just like any other municipalities

in Mindanao.